Wednesday, December 30, 2015

Hollow Hand - Ancestral Lands

Sometimes you just stumble across something beautiful and have to stop, step back and just bask in the beauty. My discovery of Ancestral Lands by Hollow Hand is one of those times. If you only have a moment, take a listen to "Love & Games." If you've got a little more time on your hands, the whole album's here:

Monday, December 21, 2015

Che Lingo - "Knock My Hustle"

I've mentioned it before, but if you're not subscribed to SBTV on Youtube, then you're missing out on regular goodness. Like this Che Lingo cut.

Wednesday, December 9, 2015

Roe O vs Monk O - "Extra Special Category"

Just because the white label hand-stamped vinyl of this killer cut are sold out, it doesn't mean you can't (and shouldn't) enjoy this tune. Fans of Numero Group, and just old funk and soul in general - get some "extra special" in your listening life.

Wednesday, December 2, 2015

Dele Sosimi - You No Fit Touch Am Retouched EP

I know it's more like wah wah pedals than babies crying that label Wah Wah 45 took inspiration for their name, but with the ecstatic music these folks put out, for me the moniker should be Yah Yah 45. Anytime I see they've got something cooking up, I know I'm in for a tasty audio treat and this set of remixes of Dele Sosimi is a piping-hot dish. The Titeknots remix of "Sanctuary" below is my personal standout.

Monday, November 30, 2015

Knowsum - Hi-Hat Club Volume 7 - Hyasynthus

More great stuff from Melting Pot Music. Some spacey beats to vibe out to under a starry night sky.

Wednesday, November 25, 2015

The James Hunter Six - "(Baby) Hold On"

 Daptone, continuing to build out their roster around Sharon Jones, have signed UK r&b / soul singer James Hunter and his titular sextet. Hold On! the record's not due out until February 2016, but the first track just dropped and it's exactly what you'd expect if you've followed the Hunter's path.


Young Gun Silver Fox - West End Coast

Shawn Lee. Dude's got more musical stripes than a zebra. And he really can't go wrong. Check out his collaboration with Andy Platts as Young Gun Silver Fox and hear the pair absolutely slay yacht-rock.


Thursday, November 5, 2015

Henkel - "I Remember That"

It's a miserable day in Winnipeg; wet and gray. But damned if listening to this didn't brighten my spirits. 


Wednesday, November 4, 2015

The Milk - "Trouble Gonna Bring Me Down"

Trouble might be bringing Wickford blues/soul act down, but this track is going to be lifting you up!


Share Some Love

If you follow this blog on the regular then you know I've talked about labels like Tru Thoughts, Finders Keepers, ZZK, Strut and Soundway. If you dug any of that stuff, then you're in luck. The fine folks behind those even finer record labels have banded together for the seventh installment of Label Love, a compilation featuring selections from their recent catalog. AND IT'S FREE. Get it, and then chase down full-lengths from the likes of Nicola Cruz, flako, Quantic presents The Western Transient and more and support the folks that put this thing together.


Thursday, October 29, 2015

Charles Murdoch - "Frogs" Feat. Ta-ku, Wafia & Hak

Somehow I missed the boat on Charles Murdoch, the Aussie released an EP called Weathered Straight on Future Classic two years ago but despite keeping tabs on FC, I hadn't heard it. The track below only popped up on my radar because I follow Ta-Ku and it was shared on their account. Believe you me I'm going back in time on anything this silk-smooth vocalist has done and have my eye on him for the future.


Nicola Cruz - "Colibria"

 After a collab with Nicholas Jaar dating back to 2012, Ecuadorian Nicola Cruz is rocking it solo on Argentinian label ZZK Records. Self-described "Andes Step," this is some pretty chill stuff that also fits the folktronica bill and hearkens back to one of my favourite touchstone records, the Folky compilation.


Tuesday, October 27, 2015

Long Beard - Sleepwalker

I don't think I've sung the praises of Winnipeg artist astre on this blog before, but I've had the good fortune to see them perform live a few times as well as the great pleasure of recording a live session at UMFM. Listening to Sleepwalker from New Brunswick, New Jersey act Long Beard, I can't help but think of the local corollary - but with a fuller sound as guitarist/vocalist Leslie Bear is accompanied by drummer Stefan Koekemoer and bassist Tom Christie.

One of the tags the band applied to Sleepwalker on their Bandcamp page is "drone folk" - I kinda like that descriptor, though it doesn't completely do justice to what Long Beard are doing on this album and the plethora of tags suggest they know how difficult it is to pin down what's going on. Though one tag would suffice: GREAT.


Thursday, October 22, 2015

Summering - S/T

This is so in my wheelhouse it's not even funny. I feel like Summering is target-marketing my brain. If you like gauzy, epic post-rock/shoegaze hybrids, then you can join me in the deep end that is Summering's S/T.


Wednesday, October 7, 2015

Peru - "I Need You"

 I'm a little flummoxed that these guys have played on the Warped Tour (maybe their core audience has changed?) but damned if this isn't some catchy, summery pop to brighten your days. Their EP, Ordinary People, isn't out til December but you can check out "I Need You" now.


Wednesday, September 30, 2015

Bastien Keb - "Chicken Stomp"

God bless Andrew Jervis. I first heard this cut on his Bandcamp podcast and rushed to SoundCloud to start following Bastien Keb. While "Chicken Stomp" is the pinnacle of tunes on Dinking in the Shadows of Zizou, the rest is pretty high-level stuff. Take a listen to my favourite and then hit the Bandcamp link for the whole LP, available for PWYC.

"Chicken Stomp"



Dinking in the Shadows of Zizou

Kutiman - "Space Cassava"

My affinity for Kutiman goes waaaaay back.  But despite following him on SoundCloud, I somehow missed "Space Cassava" when it was first posted a couple months back. Excited to hear what else is coming out on Siyal Music has in store. Also excited to learn my original blog post on the dude was used in his Wikipedia entry.


Mo Kolours - "Orphan's Lament"

First track to drop from the new LP Texture Like Sun.


Tuesday, September 22, 2015

Leyya - "I Want You"

 This video is adorkable. I'm not sure why dude needs his guitar but whatever, we all make choices. Choose to listen to this tune.


Tuesday, September 15, 2015

Bones & Beeker - "Heartbroken In Love"

 Man does that descending guitar line just scream Minneapolis. PURPLE RAIN falling! Also, watch this video instead of just turning on the audio. It's a dope little short film.


Monday, September 14, 2015

Matthew Halsall & The Gondwana Orchestra - "As I Walk (ft. Josephine Oniyama)"


Orchestral jazz sometimes gets a bad rap. I think it might be the association with schmatlz purveyors and the likes of Lawrence Welk, but let's try to remember that folks like Duke Ellington absolutely killed it back in the day while incorporating more than just 'traditional' jazz instruments. Matthew Halsall & The Gondwana Orchestra are following in the footsteps of the Duke on "As I Walk."


Friday, September 11, 2015

Astronauts, etc. - "Rocket Man (ft. Toro Y Moi)"

Yes. YES! A thousand times YES! It's Friday evening as I type this and I'm about to blast off on a rocket co-piloted by Toro Y Moi and Astronauts, etc. This cover is boss. Those keys are boss. I'm out.



Cannon Bros. - "Can't Sleep"

The bros are back! Can't wait to hear the rest of Dream City when Alannah and Cole release it at the Good Will on October 3rd. For now, you can listen to "Can't Sleep," the first song to make it to the internet.


Thursday, September 10, 2015

Lionlimb - "Turnstile"

With the leaves turning and the weather dipping, this is like one last slice of summer.


Tuesday, September 1, 2015

Klaus Layer - "La La LA (One for John)"

It's killing me. I totally know where the sample this track is built on is from, but for the life of me, I can't come up with the name of the artist / song / album that Klaus Layer sourced. Oh well. Guess I'll have to listen to this tune another ten to fifteen times in a row...


Tuesday, August 25, 2015

Library Voices - "Oh Donna"

SHOUT IT OUT! New Library Voices. Lovish is out in November on Nevado, but you can check out the first single now!


Monday, August 24, 2015

Jackie Greene - "Now I Can See For Miles"

I was away on holidays last week so I've been poring through a bunch of submissions that arrived in my absence and recognized the name Jackie Greene from his appearance at the Winnipeg Foll Festival a few years back. His latest, Back to Birth is out on Yep Roc Records and it's a rollicking little record with no track quite so catchy as "Now I Can See For Miles." Enjoy the view.


Tuesday, August 11, 2015

Johnny de Courcy - "Master Manipulator"

Big ups to Weird Canada - not only for hipping me to this tasty Johnny de Courcy track, but for all they do in supporting music that should be heard but isn't always given an ear or a stage. Bookmark that link I've embedded above 'cause you're gonna dig what they do. Of course that's just a suggestion since I'm not a "Master Manipulator" like de Courcy.


Wednesday, August 5, 2015

Bones & Beeker - "Each Time I Die"

 I was completely hooked when I heard the first single, "Lupine" from Minneapolis act Bones & Beeker and after hearing the second cut Wax Poetics has shared on SoundCloud, I'm doubling-down on the duo.

"Each Time I Die" is just as funky but demonstrates another dimension of production from BK-One with the klezmer-clarinet and the Balkan beat no less funky but much more esoteric. Wax-Po says the self-titled full-length will drop in "late 2015" but no specific date has been announced.




Wednesday, July 22, 2015

Tami Neilson - Dynamite!

If you live in New Zealand you're likely already hip to Canadian-expat Tami Neilson. Her album Dynamite! came out there in the spring of 2014 and has racked up awards and plaudits since its release. On September 4th the fine folks at Outside Music will bring Neilson home - or at least bring her record to the Canadian market when they issue it on their own imprint (home to the likes of Jill Barber, The Weather Station and The Sadies among many other great Canadian acts).

Neilson's record is on the cover of the latest release sheet from Outside and it certainly caught my attention. A quick Google search led me to videos from Dynamite! and I am hooked on this record and the Sun Studios throwback quality of the tunes. Watch the lead single "Walk (Back to Your Arms)" and "Texas" below and I'm sure you'll be writing September 4th in your calendar as well.








Tuesday, July 21, 2015

Fallgrapp - "Galaxy / Basic"

I kinda like it where I stumble across a track that has a host of names involved and I'm unfamiliar with a great number of them. I only recognized Fallgrapp from the cut "Orion" on Gergaz's Beat Garden Compilation 4 released this past January, and all the vocalists are entirely new to me. Now I'm about to do a deep-dive on The High Corporation, The Unused Word, Isaac Aesili and Ashley Abrman. Maybe after listening to these tracks you'll be following me down the rabbit hole Alice?


Friday, July 17, 2015

The Gene Dudley Group - Zambidoose

As a bit of a traditionalist (and former record store employee) I was taken aback when they first announced moving release dates to Friday instead of the traditional Tuesday. That said, there's no better start to the weekend than a great new record dropping and that's what we've got here from The Gene Dudley Group. This time, there are actual collaborators (there's no "Group" involved in GDG) including E from Myron & E on lead-off cut "I've Changed" and the wonderful Annie Frankenstein on a trio of tracks. You can hear the whole thing for yourself on Bandcamp below and go get it via iTunes or the Wah Wah 45 shop.


Thursday, July 16, 2015

My Polaris 2015 Voting Record

I meant to write this ages ago when the Longlist voting-period ended. Instead, I procrastinated and now the deadline for both the Longlist and the Shortlist voting have come and gone and now the official Shortlist has been announced this morning.

If you're unfamiliar with how it works, each juror votes for their personal Top Five and through some 'secret-sauce' style aggregating / tallying, the Longlist of 40 albums is created. From that list of 40, the jurors then vote for another top five (if they're lucky, some of their initial selections) out of the eligible pool.

My first round of balloting was as follows:

1. **Various - Native North America, Vol. 1 [Light In The Attic]
2. Allison Au Quartet - The Sky Was Pale Blue, Then Grey [Independent]
3. Conduct - Fear and Desire [Public Tone Records]
4. **The Acorn - Vieux Loup [Paper Bag Records]
5. Zaum - Oracles [Independent]


I put together my own Longlist throughout the year based on my own listening and recommendations from other jurors and the other albums under consideration were (listed alphabetically):




**BBNG & Ghostface Killah - Sour Soul [Lex Records]
**Bahamas - Bahamas Is Afie [Brushfire]
Bent By Elephants - The Shore [Sunset Hill Music]
**Braids - Deep In The Iris [Flemish Eye]
Etiquette - Reminisce [Hand Drawn Dracula]
**Pierre Kwenders - Le dernier empereur bantou [Bonsound]
Lee Reed - The Butcher, The Banker, The Bitumen Tanker [Independent]
**Elizabeth Shepherd - The Signal [Linus]
Shimmering Stars - Bedrooms of the Nation [Shitty Bike Records]
Spek Won - Sofa King Amazing [Independent]
**The Weather Station - Loyalty [Outside]
**White Lung - Deep Fantasy [Domino]

[** means the selection made the Longlist]

I was able to keep the  Native North America complilation in the top spot and moved Vieux Loup up to #2 which left me three votes from among the seven albums that were on both my initial Longlist and the official Polaris one.

Ultimately, I voted for the following on the Shortlist ballot:

1. Various - Native North America, Vol. 1 [Light In The Attic]
2. The Acorn - Vieux Loup [Paper Bag Records]
3. The Weather Station - Loyalty [Outside]
4. Bahamas - Bahamas Is Afie [Brushfire]
5. Pierre Kwenders - Le dernier empereur bantou [Bonsound]



So after "going two-for-five" on the first ballot, I went "oh-for-five" on the second one. I'm certainly happy to see Deep In The Iris and Sour Soul make the cut as both were strong considerations for me. I really enjoyed the Viet Cong record, but with the controversy surrounding the band name, I couldn't bring myself to vote for it. Ultimately, I think the official Shortlist is fine, but it leaves me feeling flat (maybe getting none of my selections on there has something to do with it). I'm definitely throwing my support behind Braids, for what it's worth.

Friday, July 10, 2015

Katie Moore - "Leaving"

She's not out at Birds Hill Park, but listening to the first track from Katie Moore's forthcoming LP Fooled By The Fun, I think she might end up there at some future fest. Lovely.


Wednesday, July 8, 2015

Karin Krog - "Maiden Voyage"

An oldie but a more-than-goodie. Just discovered Norwegian free-jazz vocalist Karin Krog (there's a new anthology of her work from 1963-99 called Don't Just Sing) and a YouTube deep-dive lead me to this chestnut. Her cover of Herbie Hancock's "Maiden Voyage" from the 1968 album Joy.


Tuesday, July 7, 2015

Massive Suits Quartet - "Dancing With Her (Woman's Theme)"

One of two tracks streaming on the Bandcamp page for the forthcoming LP Full Moon Wizard, "Dancing With Her (Woman's Theme)" is a blissfully easy, vibing tune from the Massive Suits Quartet. Who're they? Turns out it's actually just one man - Grégoire Marty - aka Dandy Teru. I got hip to Teru via Tall Black Guy and the first volume of Tempo Dreams, but had no idea MSQ dates back to 2011. Colour me caught up. And entranced.


Thursday, July 2, 2015

AFX - "Serge Fenix Rendered 2"

Apparently Richard D. James has dusted off the AFX moniker and is set to release Orphaned Deejay Selek 2006-2008 on Warp August 21st. First tease of the album is below, entitled "Serge Fenix Rendered 2."


Friday, June 26, 2015

Kerbside Collection - "Red Clay" (Trash Or Treasure)

Not sure what it is but Down Under seems to be on top these days. I thought James Chatburn's covering Prince was pretty cool, but jazz-funk act Kerbside Collection taking on Freddie Hubbard's "Red Clay" has upped the ante. Trash or Treasure's out now on the always reliable Legere Recordings.


Wednesday, June 24, 2015

Kadjha Bonet - "Miss You"

There's a great, but under-appreciated, compilation released in 2001 called Folky - Acoustic Music In Digital Times. Listening to the first track from Kadjha Bonet's forthcoming EP, The Visitor I couldn't help but recall that collection and just how perfectly "Miss You" would have been on its tracklist.


Tuesday, June 23, 2015

Safia Nolin - "Igloo"

The full-length, Limoilou, isn't due out for several months (September 11th, in fact), but one of the first two tracks streaming on Bandcamp have me eager to hear more from Safia Nolin.


Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats - "S.O.B."

Hot damn, if you're not hootin' and hollerin' along to this one, you might be an S.O.B. yourself.


Wednesday, June 10, 2015

Waterstrider - "Frayed"

The Warriors aren't the only hot act coming out of the Bay Area right now. Oakland sextet Waterstrider released "Frayed" at the end of April but this has "summertime jam" written all over it. Insistent but not urgent, breezy but not light. Boss.


Finland - "No Low Voices"

Maybe it's an inside joke, but the four members of Finland are actually Norwegian. They include bassist Jo Berger Myhre, who has played for Nils Petter Molvær and who served as my entree to the group and their new album Rainy Omen. "No Low Voices" is the album standout, with a push-pull dynamic endemic to post-rock, but what makes it unique is that the song starts with a pop shuffle and Johnny Marr-esque ringing melodic line that eventually folds in on itself around the three minute mark (your standard pop-song length?) at which point it burrows under a blanket of heavy toms and noise for several minutes before shedding it in a chaotic squall.


Tuesday, June 9, 2015

Theo Jackson - "Moonchild"

I am absolutely infatuated with this song and the way Jackson's voice soars and dips on that chorus while those brushes shuffle.

Also, whistling. How can you not be a fan of whistling?

The album, Shoeless and the Girl, is out now on Dot Time Records.


Monday, June 8, 2015

Tuesday, June 2, 2015

ON AN ON - "It's Not Over"

Completely infatuated with this Minneapolis band right now.  And The Wave Has Two Sides is out July 24th on Roll Call Records and this little taste should convince you to pre-order it.


Friday, May 29, 2015

Bilal - "Satellites"

BILAL IS BACK! And he's affecting the world in subtle but consequential ways. Can't wait to hear the rest of In Another Life.


Thursday, May 28, 2015

Ghostly Kisses - "Never Know"

Sometimes, a band name is just perfectly aligned with the music created under the moniker. This is one of those times. Ethereal and lovely stuff. Listen to it below and get it on Bandcamp.


Thursday, May 21, 2015

Destroyer - "Dream Lover"

Obviously not a Mariah Carey cover. It's the first single from the forthcoming (but not for quite a while) LP Poison Season from Destroyer.

Dig the saxophone and mark your calendar for August 28th.


I try not to shill, but...

So the purpose of Reductive Reviews is about sharing great new music that comes across my radar. I don't look at as out-and-out-shilling, and I rarely directly say "go buy this" but regular readers will know I'm a fan of what Mello Music Group put out (especially Oddisee) and have regularly shared cuts from their catalogue.

I'm getting nothing out of what I'm about to share (other than knowing you're checking out more great music) - but I had to let folks know that the label is having a massive sale on their Bandcamp page with pretty much the entirety of their back-catalog on sale for $4.99 a pop. It doesn't include the amazing new LP from Oddisee, The Good Fight, but the money you save on the rest can be put towards that one.

To just give you a taste of what you can get in the sale, here's a recent cut called "Word to the Wise (ft. Oddisee)" from the Persona album.


Wednesday, May 20, 2015

Vallens - "Tennesse Haze"

This is my first taste of Vallens, but knowing it comes out on Hand Drawn Dracula, I knew it'd be a dish worth savoring. Can't wait for the full meal.


Tuesday, May 12, 2015

Honne - "Coastal Love"

I love the intersection of soul and electro, and Honne (no idea how to pronounce it) are hanging on the corner, singing on the stoop like a modern day doo-wop act.


Friday, May 8, 2015

The Jack Moves - "Seasons Change" (video)

It's a little brisk in Winnipeg today as winter doesn't quite want to give up the ghost. Perfect time for watching this video shot in Newark last winter during that particularly cold snap that hit the East Coast.


Tuesday, May 5, 2015

Ducktails - "Headbanging In The Mirror"

Well, for a song with headbanging in the title, this is probably not what you're expecting. But if you're a fan of Ducktails, this is exactly what you'd expect / want / need. First single from the forthcoming St. Catherine (July on Domino) is a straight-up slice of goodness.


Husky - "I'm Not Coming Back"

I'm not sure I fully understand release dates anymore. The new Oddissee record officially dropped today, but was available on iTunes last week. Ruckers Hill, the new record from Husky apparently came out last August, but is only being sent to radio now (in advance of its Nevado release next month)... I suspect it may have something to do with time zones since this act is from Australia.

Regardless, I do understand what makes a great song and this record has it in spades, most particularly on "I'm Not Coming Back." Harmony is king.


Wednesday, April 29, 2015

AM & Shawn Lee - "Persuasion"

A little something midweek to keep you moving toward the weekend. So glad these two artists hooked up and continue to work together. Based on "Persuasion," I can't wait for Outlines.


Tuesday, April 28, 2015

Boats - "Shallows"

There's nothing flashy or attention-grabbing about the songs on Melbourne act Boats EP, ReleaseBut they lap up against your ankles and as the tide rises over the course of the collection, they eventually wash over you.


Kamasi Washington - "Miss Understanding"

 Washington just dropped another gem from The Epic. This album is already a contender for my year-end list and I've only heard the portion of the iceberg above the waterline. Can't wait for the deep dive.


Thursday, April 23, 2015

Joyce Elaine Yuille - "Come With Me"

If this doesn't make you feel good to be alive and put a bounce in your step, I don't know what to say. On "Come With Me" Yuille is the pied piper and I am following her out of town.


Wednesday, April 22, 2015

Wednesday, April 8, 2015

Panda Bear - "Tropic Of Cancer"

I am a fan of panda bears, dogs, blissfully mellow music and weirdness so the video for the new Panda Bear track from Panda Bear Meets The Grim Reaper is firing on all cylinders.


Tuesday, April 7, 2015

ORCHESTER KURT EDELHAGEN - "Persian Mood (Black Pearl Edel edit)"

What the funk? This was composed for the 1972 Olympic Games??!!
A little before my time, but so far ahead of the times. Why can't current Olympic themes be this cool?


Monday, April 6, 2015

Garotas Suecas - "Bacana, Bacana"

I've mentioned Garotas Suecas before, and now they're following up  Feras Miticas with an three-song set they just shared on Soundcloud as a free download. Take a listen to this funky not-so-little number and then head over and grab the entire thing for yourself.


Tuesday, March 31, 2015

Bells Atlas - "Future Bones"

You can't take it with you on a trip like Rand McNally, but Bells Atlas can certainly take you on a trip with their new track "Future Bones."


Friday, March 27, 2015

DTCV - "Miley Cyrus Wins The Race"

This kinda takes me back to the days of Veruca Salt and Lush. Or - more recently - Dum Dum Girls.


Friday, March 20, 2015

Leon Bridges - "Lisa Sawyer"

Shout out to Grantland's Rembert Browne for spotlighting Bridges in his coverage of SXSW.  Definitely check out the live video of Bridges performing this song in the article.


Thursday, March 19, 2015

Marie-Pierre Arthur - "Rien à faire"

Big ups to the Quebecois members of the Polaris jury for hipping me to music that doesn't seem to cross the border from our French-speaking province to ROC (aka 'rest of Canada'). Otherwise I don't think I would have heard of Marie-Pierre Arthur and the lead-off track to her album Si Laurore. This is some throwback Fleetwood Mac type stuff right here.


Thursday, March 12, 2015

Linn Öberg - "Bergen (In Your Honor)"

Fan of First Aid Kit? Then give this tune a listen and go find yourself a copy of  Öberg's full-length, When You Go.


Kamasi Washington - "Re Run Home"

Epic. It's the name of the album this cut comes from, and it's also descriptive of this 14+ minute beast of a tune. And there's more where it came from. Brainfeeder will be dropping this three-disc behemoth on the world in May.


Tame Impala - "Let It Happen"

There is nothing tame about this burner of a track.
Let it happen, indeed.


Tuesday, March 10, 2015

BASECAMP - "N2DEEP"

Can't get enough of these guys. Somehow they manage to make Phil Collins era Genesis sound good.
I'd also recommend checking out their production on the Deadroses album from Blackbear.


Acronyms - "Parts"

Just discovered this band from Saskatoon that are coming through Winnipeg next week and possibly playing on air at the station. Apart from this being a pretty solid song, they have the most amazing band t-shirts I've seen in a while. Hoping there's merch left when they hit the 'Peg.


Tuesday, February 24, 2015

Essa - "Evade and Seek"

Just do yourself a favour and put Tall Black Guy in your Google Alert so you never miss a thing he's up to. This collabo with UK emcee Essa just the latest in an unending stream of the goodness.


Wednesday, February 18, 2015

The Weather Station - "Way It Is, Way It Could Be"

It may be the dead of winter and springs seems like a million miles away, but you should mark your calendar for May 12th. That's when the new Weather Station LP Loyalty comes out on Outside.


Tuesday, February 10, 2015

Slow Spirit - Bad News EP

This EP just dropped today. I know everyone's going gaga over Father John Misty today, but spare twenty minutes in your music-listening schedule for this Winnipeg band and you'll be rewarded with a great listen.


Wednesday, February 4, 2015

Young Braised - Northern Reflections

This is some cLOUDDEAD  type stuff here. Enjoy the head trip.


Friday, January 30, 2015

Nohelani Cypriano - "Lihue"

Just recently discovered this jam after getting into some sweet sounds out of the Hawaiian islands. Apparently Cypriano is the "Hawaiian boogie queen" according to Athens of the North.


Tuesday, January 20, 2015

GOSTO - "My Bad"

Just heard this on the Bandcamp podcast. Totally in the Chet Faker / Mikky Ekko / Miles Bonny vein.

AmsterDAMN this is good.


Onom Agemo & The Disco Jumpers - Cranes and Carpets

Kinda reminds me of Karl Hector & The Malcouns, and not just because of the "x & the y" naming convention. This is another German act playing afro-beat inspired funk through a European filter. I suppose there's an argument to be made for cultural appropriation, but it's just too funky to do anything but enjoy it.


Friday, January 16, 2015

Josh Rouse - "Some Days I'm Golden All Night"

Fridays I'm definitely golden. Enjoy your weekend and this new tune from the forthcoming Josh Rouse album, The Embers of Time.


Friday, January 9, 2015

The Milk - "Deliver Me"

This is a free download. You have absolutely no reason NOT to check this sweet slice of soul out. Some Grade A Tarantino soundtrack fodder right here. 


Tuesday, January 6, 2015

RED PILL - "All Of Us"

THIS IS TRUTH.