Wednesday, June 10, 2015

Finland - "No Low Voices"

Maybe it's an inside joke, but the four members of Finland are actually Norwegian. They include bassist Jo Berger Myhre, who has played for Nils Petter Molvær and who served as my entree to the group and their new album Rainy Omen. "No Low Voices" is the album standout, with a push-pull dynamic endemic to post-rock, but what makes it unique is that the song starts with a pop shuffle and Johnny Marr-esque ringing melodic line that eventually folds in on itself around the three minute mark (your standard pop-song length?) at which point it burrows under a blanket of heavy toms and noise for several minutes before shedding it in a chaotic squall.

No comments:

Post a Comment